top of page

It's the Final Proofread!!!

(Please read the title to the tune of The Final Countdown)

So the Galley copy of my book has come back from the publisher. It's all formatted and put together. Just needs one more proofread to make sure everything is the way it's supposed to be.

At this point I have read through the story so many times I'm sick of it, as are my readers, so I reached out to find someone new to take a look at the story and see if there's anything I missed. I was lucky enough to contact Frankie Waters on social media, and oh boy. She tore my manuscript apart.

In the very best way.

When I first started getting my writing critiqued back in college it was hard to hear all the things I did wrong as a writer. However, I've gained enough experience to not take it personally and instead see it as the necessary and helpful step that it is.

Now I much prefer proofreaders and editors who are hard on my work, rather than ones that let me off easy.

If you’re looking for an editor who will not only go over your work with a fine-toothed comb but also take the time to explain why each change should be made, then Frankie Waters is the editor you need. When she looked through my manuscript it was in the final stages of publication and had already been reviewed by other editors. Yet in only a few days she found mistakes and inconsistencies that I never noticed. Her explanations were also easy to understand, using a mix of technical definitions and simple descriptions that would allow writers of any level to understand the mistakes and how to fix them.

However, what I found most helpful was her opinion on the overall tone of my writing. Even if a sentence was grammatically correct, it could still be hard to understand or worded awkwardly. She took the time to point these out as well, and suggested ways to re-word the sentences for better clarity. This greatly helped my writing to flow better and removed any unwanted connotations that came as a result from the awkward word choice.

Overall, her efforts left me with a sense of confidence knowing that my writing is so much better than it was just a few days ago. If you’re in need of an editor, then Frankie Waters should be your first choice.


You can find her proofreading and editing services here.


Below are a few examples of her notes on my manuscript.









bottom of page